top of page

My Production World

This fall gave me great experience with digital video production at Ohio University in a course with Brian Plow, professor in the Media Arts and Studies Program. Brian is a media maker with passions for documentary, social justice and cinematography. His work as a producer, director and cinematographer has been exhibited in festivals throughout North America and Europe, national/international conferences and university programs, as well as top 25 television markets and PBS affiliates in Mid-Atlantic region.

The highlights of my course with Brian this fall include two short video productions and an audio story. First was a "Found Film" assignment where I found existing clips, audio and images for a piece called "The Heyday of FM."

Next my roommate Colin Lasu and I ...

...created a joint audio story with chef, restaurateur and musician Hillarie Burhans reminiscing and making shortbread with her granddaughter, Charlotte.

My work project along with my studies at OU this year includes documentary production on two topics, the 1930 Millfield Mine Disaster in Ohio, and Traditional Appalachian Music in the Athens Area. Here is a preview cut of the Millfield Project.

Rounding out my Athens experience, I host a Saturday morning 9am to noon folk radio show, Roots and Branches, on WOUB-AM.

Recently I had Athens songwriter Megan B on the air live for an interview...

Thanks for checking in with my progress, and as always you can reach me at burr.beard@gmail.com, or on Facebook.

# # #


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page